OpenJDK server migration TODAY (Friday 2014/3/7)

mark.reinhold at mark.reinhold at
Fri Mar 7 19:30:33 UTC 2014

We're going to migrate the OpenJDK db, cr, hg, and mail domains,
as well as the root domain, to a new server later
today.  The bugs and wiki domains will not be affected.

Here's the time line:

  14:00 PST (22:00 UTC) -- Servers go into read-only mode;
                           inbound e-mail will be queued
  21:00 PST (05:00 UTC) -- DNS entries change
  23:00 PST (07:00 UTC) -- Service restored

After the DNS entries change most services should be available for
reading, but not for writing.  A followup announcement will be sent
once all services are back to normal.

We're taking this opportunity to upgrade the Mercurial (hg) server
to use Mercurial version 2.9.  As a consequence:

  - The push-only "-gate" repos will no longer be needed and will be
    removed.  After the migration changes must be pulled from, and
    pushed to, the same repository.  (Pushes will still be done via
    ssh, not http.)  If you have recorded "-gate" repository paths
    in any .hg/hgrc files then you'll have to remove the "-gate"
    suffix from those paths.

  - The unsupported Forest extension will no longer be present on the
    server, so commands such as fpush, fpull, fincoming, etc., will no
    longer work.  As an alternative you can use the recently-published
    Trees extension [1] or the existing script [2].

  - The minimum recommended version of Mercurial on the client side is
    2.6.3, although earlier versions are likely to continue to work.

After the migration, please report any problems (as usual) to ops at
openjdk dot java dot net.

- Mark


More information about the announce mailing list