IcedTea-Web 1.4 released!

Jiri Vanek jvanek at
Sat May 4 03:49:51 PDT 2013

Hi all!

After long and furious development, I'm finally proud to announce release of icedtea-web 1.4.
97c1d5f02f9a4ab19812a216f39e401a  icedtea-web-1.4.tar.gz

How we were dealing and what we plan to do, can be  checked on wiki:

New in IcedTea-Web 1.4

* Numerous improvements and enhancements in core and system of classloaders
* Added cs localization
* Added de localization
* Added pl localization
* Splash screen for javaws and plugin
* Better error reporting for plugin via Error-splash-screen
* All IcedTea-Web dialogues are centered to middle of active screen
* Download indicator made compact for more then one jar
* User can select its own JVM via itw-settings and
* Added extended applets security settings and dialogue
* Security updates
   - CVE-2013-1926, RH916774: Class-loader incorrectly shared for applets with same relative-path.
   - CVE-2013-1927, RH884705: fixed gifar vulnerabilit
   - CVE-2012-3422, RH840592: Potential read from an uninitialized memory location
   - CVE-2012-3423, RH841345: Incorrect handling of not 0-terminated strings
* NetX
   - PR1027: DownloadService is not supported by IcedTea-Web
   - PR725: JNLP applications will prompt for creating desktop shortcuts every time they are run
   - PR1292: Javaws does not resolve versioned jar names with periods correctly
* Plugin
   - PR1106: Buffer overflow in plugin table-
   - PR1166: Embedded JNLP File is not supported in applet tag
   - PR1217: Add command line arguments for plugins
   - PR1189: Icedtea-plugin requires code attribute when using jnlp_href
   - PR1198: JSObject is not passed to javascript correctly
   - PR1260: IcedTea-Web should not rely on GTK
   - PR1157: Applets can hang browser after fatal exception
   - PR580: loads improperly
* Common
   - PR1049: Extension jnlp's signed jar with the content of only META-INF/* is considered
   - PR955: regression: SweetHome3D fails to run
   - PR1145: IcedTea-Web can cause ClassCircularityError
   - PR1161: X509VariableTrustManager does not work correctly with OpenJDK7
   - PR822: Applets fail to load if jars have different signers
   - PR1186: System.getProperty("") is null
   - PR909: The Java applet at fails
   - PR1299: WebStart doesn't read socket proxy settings from firefox correctly

People who helped with this release (If I forgot somebody, please let me know!):

Deepak Bhole <dbhole at>
Danesh Dadachanji <ddadacha at>
Adam Domurad <adomurad at>
Jana Fabrikova <jfabriko at>
Peter Hatina <phatina at>
Andrew John Hughes <ahughes at>
Matthias Klose <doko at>
Alexandr Kolouch <skolnag at>
Jan Kmetko < at>
Omair Majid <omajid at>
Thomas Meyer <thomas at>
Saad Mohammad <smohammad at>
Martin Olsson  <martin at>
Pavel Tisnovsky <ptisnov at>
Jiri Vanek <jvanek at>
Jacob Wisor  <gitne at>

Special thanks to:

  * Adam Domurad - for deep investigations and  fixes in core, and in numerous classloaders or otherwise complicated bugs
  * Jan Kmetko - for initial design of splashscreen
  * Deepak Bhole and Omair Majid - for ever keeping an watchful eye on patches
  * to community - namely:
    -  Jacob Wisor and Alexandr Kolouch  - who voluntary offered and delivered Pl+De and Cz translation

And not finally to all who tested the pre and final versions for regressions

Best regards

More information about the distro-pkg-dev mailing list