Initial forests for JDK 9

Stuart Marks stuart.marks at
Wed Dec 11 18:57:24 PST 2013

On 12/9/13 10:57 PM, Iris Clark wrote:
> For JDK 8, changes to the Master and all team forests are sent to jdk8-changes at ojn.  Push notifications to team forests are also sent to various -dev mailing lists.  In some cases notifications may be sent to multiple mailing lists.  For instance, changes to the tl forest are sent to compiler-dev, core-libs-dev, serviceability-dev, security-dev, and net-dev.  With the reduction in the number of team repos in JDK 9 particularly for client, the number of duplicate push notifications will increase.
> I recommend that each of the forests send push notifications to new mailing lists which use the following naming convention: jdk9-forest?-changes at ojn .  Notifications for jdk9 would be sent to jdk9-changes, dev to jdk9-dev-changes, hotspot-rt to jdk9-hotspot-rt-changes, etc.

I wholeheartedly agree that push notifications should be moved away from the 
various *-dev discussion lists and moved onto dedicated change notification 
lists, per forest.

If the "master" forest ends up actually being called "master" per my earlier 
e-mail then the notification list for it would be jdk9-master-changes.


More information about the jdk9-dev mailing list