CFV: New Project: Kona

Kumar Srinivasan kumar.x.srinivasan at
Thu Feb 5 18:43:01 UTC 2015

Vote: yes

On 1/22/2015 8:32 AM, Riaz Aimandi wrote:
> I hereby propose the creation of the Kona Project with myself (Riaz Aimandi)
> as the Lead and the Core Libraries group as the sponsoring group.
> This project would define and implement Java APIs for networking technologies
> and protocols that are commonly used in the Internet of Things (IoT) domain.
> The primary goal of this project would be to define APIs that can be efficiently
> implemented and used on embedded devices. These APIs would be defined in
> such a way that it could be potentially used with Java ME, although the project
> would initially focus on the implementation for Java SE.
> The first protocol that will be included in this project is Constrained Application
> Protocol (CoAP) and is expected to be contributed by ARM. It should have the
> support for UDP connector with Datagram Transport Layer Security (DTLS)
> authentication handled outside of the CoAP APIs. Other connectors like TCP
> could be added later. Eventually, other technologies and protocols such as
> bluetooth might be considered as well.
> I lead the IoT gateway runtime team at Oracle, where I have been in the Java
> group since 2007. Before that I was a technical lead in SavaJe Technologies,
> where I  represented the company in standards committees like JCP (MIDP3)
> and OMTP (Application Security Framework). I have been working with Java
> in mobile and embedded environments for 14 years.
> The initial Reviewers and Committers suggested here are members of Oracle’s
> IoT team and ARM’s mbed team.
> The initial Reviewers will be Bob Vandette, Richard Bair, Jasper Potts, Darryl
> Mocek, David Grieve & Jen Dority.
> The initial Committers will be Sujay Sarkhel, Frederick Smith, Stephen Flores,
> Nikolay Yatsenko, Richard Ratta, Qing Liu, Brandon Passanisi, Kinsley Wong,
> Sergey Soldatov, Victor Shubov, Brandon Passanisi, Kinsley Wong, Szymon
> Sasin (ARM), Kalle Vayrynen (ARM), Norbert David (ARM) and Ville Oikarinen
> (ARM).
> Votes are due by 5th February 2014 10:00 PM Eastern US Time
> 			   (6th February 2014 03:00 GMT)
> Only current OpenJDK Members [1] are eligible to vote on this motion.
> Votes must be cast in the open on the discuss list. Replying to this
> message is sufficient, if your mail program honors the Reply-To header.
> For Lazy Consensus voting instructions, see [2].
> [1]
> [2]

More information about the discuss mailing list