CFV: New JDK Committer: Alexey Ushakov (avu)

Philip Race philip.race at
Thu Apr 29 19:02:03 UTC 2021

I hereby nominate Alexey Ushakov (avu [1]) to JDK Committer

Alexey is a previous member of the Java 2D team at Sun Microsystems and 
to OpenJDK even before it existed - notably adopting LittleCMS as the 
open source
color management engine for OpenJDK as part of Sun's effort to provide 
open source
replacements for proprietary code.

Since returning to work on OpenJDK he has been a major contributor to
JEP 382 [2] (New macOS Rendering Pipeline) and is listed [3] a co-author 
of that work,
and additionally has made an additional 9 contributions beyond that, 
enumerated below.

git log --author avu --format='%h %s'
155da257fd9 8265005: Introduce the new client property for mac: 
3bf4c904fbb 8264317: Lanai: 
fails on apple M1
714ae54f91d 8258788: incorrect response to change in window insets [lanai]
a4905bae9b2 8226654: Some swing gtk regression tests fail with 
"java.lang.InternalError: Unable to load native GTK librarie
c3b47e556e2 8213292: Input freezes after MacOS key-selector (press&hold) 
usage on macOS Mojave
10ef2cd87ca 8197499: RepaintManager does not increase double buffer 
after attaching a device with higher resolution
af683a251d0 8158495: CCE: sun.java2d.NullSurfaceData cannot be cast to 
3476a78bab8 7172749: Xrender: Class cast exception in 2D code running an 
AWT regression test
7f2828e070a 6733501: Apply IcedTea little cms patches

git log --author alexey.ushakov --format='%h %s'
164537ebd4b 8147542: ClassCastException when repainting after display 
resolution change

Votes are due by 2021-05-13 19:05 UTC.

Only current JDK Committers [4] are eligible to vote on this nomination.
Votes must be cast in the open by replying to this mailing list.

For Lazy Consensus voting instructions, see [5].




[3] commit 8afec70c283ee549795996031e3a53a3212bf35a
Author: Ajit Ghaisas<aghaisas at>
Date:   Mon Mar 15 06:41:44 2021 +0000

     8260931: Implement JEP 382: New macOS Rendering Pipeline
     Co-authored-by: Jayathirth D V<jdv at>
     Co-authored-by: Alexey Ushakov<avu at>
     Co-authored-by: Artem Bochkarev<abochkarev at>
     Co-authored-by: Prasanta Sadhukhan<psadhukhan at>
     Co-authored-by: Denis Konoplev<dkonoplev at>
     Co-authored-by: Phil Race<prr at>
     Co-authored-by: Kevin Rushforth<kcr at>
     Co-authored-by: Magnus Ihse Bursie<ihse at>
     Co-authored-by: Ajit Ghaisas<aghaisas at>
     Reviewed-by: ihse, avu, kcr, gziemski, prr, kizune, jdv, psadhukhan, serb



More information about the jdk-dev mailing list